Time Out, the magazine and guidebook, has launched a new series of CD/DVD sets using local musicians from around the world as beds for tour guide DVDs to their home cities. But these aren’t ordinary tours—the focus is on underground hotspots, the kinds of places only natives know. One of their newest releases is the Madlib-produced, “The Other Side Los Angeles.” Musically, it’s well worth your money—the CD half of the pack offers an unusual bizarre jazz vs.
hip hop collection featuring songs by Sun Ra Arkestra, and, of course, Madlib (in his own name and as Beat Konducta & with Jaydee as Jaylib). No new Lootpack release, unfortunately, but you can’t have everything.

The DVD stars Stone’s Throw great Peanut Butter Wolf as tour guide, and includes interview with him about his fantastic indie label, and videos from Stones Throw artists.

FULL TRACKLIST (with a few tastes!)

1) The Lightmen Plus One – Energy Control Center
2) Cybertron – Clear
3) Dabrye feat. Jay Dee and Phat Kat – Game Over
4) Steve Grossman – Inmate Man
5) Prince Jazzbo – Blood Dunza
6) Sun Ra Arkestra – Nuclear War
7) Quasimoto – Greenery
8) Outlaw Blues Band – Deep Gully
9) Madlib – Infinity
10) Leroy “Horsemouth” Wallace – Herb Vendor
11) Rhythm Machine – Freakish Love
12) Mark Murphy – Sly
13) Harris & Orr – Spread Love
14) MED feat. Poke – What It Do
15) Beat Konducta – Smog Theme
16) Jaylib – Survival Test
17) Freestyle Fellowship – Park Bench People




They’re also bringing us “The Other Side Berlin” on April 28. On that release, the audio tour is by Ellen Allien. The music half features a remarkably diverse group of performers, including David Bowie, Monolake, and, of course, Ellen herself.

FULL TRACKLIST (with a few tastes):

1) David Bowie – Helden
2) Booka Shade – In White Rooms (Neo Mix)
3) Quarks – Ka’nigin
4) Ãime – Rej
5) Rhythm & Sound w/ Bobo Shanti – Poor People Must
Work (Carl Craig Remix)
6) Miss Kittin – Neukolln 2
7) Plastikman – I Don’t Know
8) Terranova Feat Tricky – Bombing Bastards
9) Wayne County & the Electric Chairs – Berlin
10) Monolake – Invisible
11) Ricardo Villalobos – Ichso
12) Ellen Allien & Apparat – Way Out
13) AGF / DELAY – You With Now

Related Posts

About The Author