What’s the Wu doing here? They’re a plat-selling crew, and even some of their members’ solo tips get major label backing. So how are they coming by this corner of the indie-love hood?

Wu-Tang and Friends: Unreleased is an independent release (on the Nature label) of unreleased studio tracks, B-sides, and remixes mastered and collected by their associate and longtime DJ, Allah Mathematics. None of this has hit the streets before this album.

Wu need no intro—most of the big guys are here (except Method Man), along with friends of theirs who’ve been known to appear together in the past. In other words, you’ll hear the work of Raekwon, Ghostface Toney Starks Ironman Killah, Buddha Bless, Cappadonna, GZA, RZA, Masta Killa, Eyes Low, -God, Inspectah Deck, Killah Priest, Hell Razah, and Shyhiem. And many more. No Ol’ Dirty Dirt McGirt Baby Jesus Bastard though.

Is it good? Some of it is excellent—true grimy liquid swords, like you’d expect from Enter the 36 Chambers. I’m thinking of Raekwon’s, “Treez,” “King Toast Queen,” and “U Don’t Care,” in particular. There’s not a lot new in the “Maxine” remix, but if you’ve never heard it before it’s well worth a few spins. And of course, Raekwon and Inspectah Deck are fiyah on “Rap Burglars.” The “Wu Banga (Remix),” replaces the original’s piano with a horn sample, and I actually like it better.

With a few of the songs, though, it’s obvious why the material released earlier. Like “Where Brooklyn At?”, which is just a lame hood-pride shout out that goes on forever. (It’s also one of the cuts with no Wu guys on it—just All Day, Allah Real, and Bad Luck). And the skits are useless. In fact, just about any skit without ODB is useless. Still, some excess baggage is inevitable with this kind of re-release. Treat it like an EP and get it for the seven tracks featuring actual Wu Tangers. That way, if you like the other cuts, it’ll be like a bonus.

And just for getting unreleased Wu, it’s worth every penny.

Rap Burglars-Raekwon and Ghostface

Alternate link:

Rap Burglars-Raekwon and Ghostface

Wu Banga-Wu Tang (feat. RZA, Ghostface, Masta Killa, Raekwon, Cappadonna

Alternate Link: Wu Banga-Wu Tang (feat. RZA, Ghostface, Masta Killa, Raekwon, Cappadonna


NastraDOOMus-MF Doom vs. NaS


A full album, free for download. But they’d like you to make a donation to Oxfam, if you’re so inclined.

1. Get Innocuous (Geek Chic’s Harm-Free Retouch)-LCD Soundsystem

2. Time To Get Away (ATOM’s Exit Stage Left Mix)-LCD Soundsystem

3. North American Scum-LCD Soundsystem (Dunproofin’s Not From England Either Mix)

4. Someone Great (Shokking Shokkaboy Remix)-LCD Soundsystem

5. All My Friends (AMIGAMAN Remix)-LCD Soundsystem

6. Us vs Them (Go Home Productions Remix)-LCD Soundsystem

7. Watch the Tapes (Team9’s Excursion On The Version)-LCD Soundsystem

8. Sound Of Silver (McSleazy Remix)-LCD Soundsystem

9. London, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down (Hearing Double & JCB Soundsystem)-LCD Soundsystem

Related Posts

About The Author